The Republic of Angola is a southwestern, coastal African nation. It is bordered by Namibia, Zambia, Democratic Republic of the Congo, and Republic of the Congo. Angola gained its independence from Portugal on 11 November 1975. Since its independence, Angola has endured civil war paired with numerous corrupt elections. The Popular Movement for the Liberation of Angola (MPLA) government has been holding power since 1979. The current president of Angola’s republic is João Manuel Gonçalves Lourenço. Roughly 34 million people live in Angola, with about 68% living in urban areas. Angola is rich is natural resources, including oil and diamonds, and as a result its economy is one of the fastest growing in the world. However, the impoverished population has yet to see the benefits of increased prosperity, and the country is still in a state of reconstruction after decades of civil war.

General Information
Official Name:
Republic of Angola, República de Angola, Repubilika ya Ngola
Geographic Region:
Middle Africa
Geographic Size (km sq):
Year of UN Membership:
Year of Present State Formation:
Online Profiles
Key Statistics & Indicators
Gross Domestic Product (GDP, Nominal):
$105.902 Billion
Per Capita Income (PPP Adjusted):
$6,670 (CID)
GDP Growth:
-2.5 (%)
Human Development Index (HDI):
Gini Index (Income Inequality):
Economic Grouping:
Developing Country
Least Developed Country
International Relations
UN Voting Blocs & Caucuses:
Group of 77 (G-77)
Non-Aligned Movement (NAM)
African Group
Major International & Regional Organizations:
ACP: African, Caribbean, and Pacific Group of States
AfDB: African Development Bank
AU: African Union
CPLP: Comuinidade dos Paises de Lingua Portuguesa
ICRM: International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement
IFRCS: International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
Interpol: International Criminal Police Organization
IOC: International Olympic Committee
IOM: International Organization for Migration
IPU: Inter-Parliamentary Union
ISO: International Organization for Standardization
ITSO: International Telecommunications Satellite Organization
ITUC: International Trade Union Confederation
OAS: Organization of American States
OPEC: Organization of Petroleum-Exporting Countries
SADC: Southern African Development Community
Union Latina
WCO: World Customs Organization
WFTU: World Federation of Trade Unions
UN Specialized Agencies & Organizations:
CTBTO: Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization
FAO: Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN
IAEA: International Atomic Energy Agency
IBRD: International Bank for Reconstruction and Development
ICAO: International Civil Aviation Organization
IDA: International Development Association
IFAD: International Fund for Agricultural Development
IFC: International Finance Corporation
ILO: International Labor Organization
IMF: International Monetary Fund
IMO: International Maritime Organization
ITU: International Telecommunications Union
MIGA: Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency
UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
UNIDO: United Nations Industrial Development Organization
UNWTO: United Nations World Tourism Organization
UPU: Universal Postal Union
WBG: World Bank Group
WHO: World Health Organization
WIPO: World Intellectual Property Organization
WMO: World Meteorological Organization
WTO: World Trade Organization
Bilateral Relations
United Nations Data
Government Sources
UN Mission
820 Second Avenue, 12th floor
New York, NY 10017
(212) 861-5656
(212) 861-9295

View Another Country