Antigua and Barbuda is an island group located in the Caribbean, deriving its name from the two biggest inhabited islands it possesses. It has been an independent member state of the Commonwealth of Nations since 1981 and is governed as a Parliamentary Democracy, its current Prime Minister being Baldwin Spencer, while the official head of State remains Queen Elizabeth II. Antigua and Barbuda’s main income is tourism, which flourishes on the coastal areas, where extraordinary beaches attract visitors from all over the world.

General Information
Official Name:
Antigua and Barbuda
Saint John’s
English (official); Antiguan creole
Geographic Region:
Geographic Size (km sq):
Year of UN Membership:
Year of Present State Formation:
Online Profiles
Key Statistics & Indicators
Gross Domestic Product (GDP, Nominal):
$2.127 billion
Per Capita Income (PPP Adjusted):
$17,956.32 (CID)
GDP Growth:
2.8 (%)
Human Development Index (HDI):
Economic Grouping:
Developing Country
Small Island Developing State
International Relations
UN Voting Blocs & Caucuses:
Group of 77 (G-77)
Latin America Group
Major International & Regional Organizations:
ACP: African, Caribbean, and Pacific Group of States
AOSIS: Alliance of Small Island States
Commonwealth of Nations (British)
CariCom: Caribbean Community
CDB: Caribbean Development Bank
CELAC: Community of Latin American and Caribbean States
ICC: International Chamber of Commerce
ICRM: International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement
IFRCS: International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
IMSO: International Mobile Satellite Organization
Interpol: International Criminal Police Organization
IOC: International Olympic Committee
IOM: International Organization for Migration
ISO: International Organization for Standardization
ITUC: International Trade Union Confederation
OAS: Organization of American States
OECS: Organization of Eastern Caribbean States
OPANAL: Agency for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in Latin America and the Caribbean
WFTU: World Federation of Trade Unions
UN Specialized Agencies & Organizations:
CTBTO: Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization
FAO: Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN
IBRD: International Bank for Reconstruction and Development
ICAO: International Civil Aviation Organization
IFAD: International Fund for Agricultural Development
IFC: International Finance Corporation
ILO: International Labor Organization
IMF: International Monetary Fund
IMO: International Maritime Organization
ITU: International Telecommunications Union
MIGA: Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency
OPCW: Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
UPU: Universal Postal Union
WBG: World Bank Group
WHO: World Health Organization
WIPO: World Intellectual Property Organization
WMO: World Meteorological Organization
WTO: World Trade Organization
Bilateral Relations
United Nations Data
Government Sources
UN Mission
3 Dag Condominiums, 305 East 47th Street, 6th Floor
New York, NY 10017
(212) 541-4117
(212) 757-1607

View Another Country