Burundi (officially the Republic of Burundi) is a landlocked country in Southeast Africa. Currently, Burundi is one of the world’s poorest countries.Tension and violence between the Tutsi and Hutu ethnic groups have plagued the country in recent decades, including a 12 year civil war. Burundi still faces challenges of bringing unity and reconciliation as it attempts to quell rebel groups and reinforce the legitimacy of its democratic government.

General Information
Official Name: 
Republic of Burundi, Republika y'Uburundi, République du Burundi
French, Kirundi
Geographic Region: 
Eastern Africa
Geographic Size (km sq): 
Year of UN Membership: 
Year of Present State Formation: 
Online Profiles
Key Statistics & Indicators
Gross Domestic Product (GDP, Nominal): 
$2.993 Billion
Per Capita Income (PPP Adjusted): 
$666 (CID)
GDP Growth: 
4.50 (%)
Human Development Index (HDI): 
Gini Index (Income Inequality): 
Economic Grouping: 
Developing Country
Landlocked Developing Country
Least Developed Country
International Relations
UN Voting Blocs & Caucuses: 
Group of 77 (G-77)
Non-Aligned Movement (NAM)
African Group
Major International & Regional Organizations: 
ACP: African, Caribbean, and Pacific Group of States
AfDB: African Development Bank
AU: African Union
CEPGL: Economic Community of the Great Lakes Countries
COMESA: Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa
EAC: East African Community
ICRM: International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement
IFRCS: International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
Interpol: International Criminal Police Organization
IOC: International Olympic Committee
IOM: International Organization for Migration
IPU: Inter-Parliamentary Union
ISO: International Organization for Standardization
ITUC: International Trade Union Confederation
OIF: Organisation internationale de la Francophonie
WCO: World Customs Organization
UN Specialized Agencies & Organizations: 
CTBTO: Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization
FAO: Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN
IAEA: International Atomic Energy Agency
IBRD: International Bank for Reconstruction and Development
ICAO: International Civil Aviation Organization
ICSID: International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes
IDA: International Development Association
IFAD: International Fund for Agricultural Development
IFC: International Finance Corporation
ILO: International Labor Organization
IMF: International Monetary Fund
ITU: International Telecommunications Union
MIGA: Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency
OPCW: Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
UNIDO: United Nations Industrial Development Organization
UNWTO: United Nations World Tourism Organization
UPU: Universal Postal Union
WBG: World Bank Group
WHO: World Health Organization
WIPO: World Intellectual Property Organization
WMO: World Meteorological Organization
WTO: World Trade Organization
Current UN Peacekeeping Missions: 
UNISFA: UN Interim Security Force for Abyei
Bilateral Relations
United Nations Data
Government Sources
UN Mission
336 East 45th Street, 12th Floor
New York, NY 10017
(212) 499-0001/0002
(212) 499-0006

View Another Country