Chad is a landlocked country in Central Africa, bordered by Libya, Niger, Nigeria, Central African Republic, Sudan and Cameroon. The capital is N’Djamena, very close to the border of Cameroon. Chad has a republican form of government, run by President Idriss Déby, who is currently in his fourth term. Chad is 1.284 million sq km large, rendering it the 21st largest country in the world. Chad was traditionally part of French Equatorial Africa, but gained its independence in 1960. Unfortunately, the years following this independence came with significant unrest.

General Information
Official Name: 
Republic of Chad, République du Tchad, جمهورية تشاد (Ǧumhūriyyat Tšād)
French, Arabic
Geographic Region: 
Middle Africa
Geographic Size (km sq): 
Year of UN Membership: 
Year of Present State Formation: 
Online Profiles
Key Statistics & Indicators
Gross Domestic Product (GDP, Nominal): 
$15.986 Billion
Per Capita Income (PPP Adjusted): 
$2,787 (CID)
GDP Growth: 
3.90 (%)
Human Development Index (HDI): 
Economic Grouping: 
Developing Country
Landlocked Developing Country
Least Developed Country
International Relations
UN Voting Blocs & Caucuses: 
Group of 77 (G-77)
Non-Aligned Movement (NAM)
African Group
Islamic Group
Major International & Regional Organizations: 
ACP: African, Caribbean, and Pacific Group of States
AfDB: African Development Bank
AU: African Union
BDEAC: Central African States Development Bank
CEMAC / UNDEAC: Economic and Monetary Community of Central Africa
EITI: Extractive Industry Transparency Initiative
FZ: Franc Zone
ICRM: International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement
IDB: Islamic Development Bank
IFRCS: International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
Interpol: International Criminal Police Organization
IOC: International Olympic Committee
IOM: International Organization for Migration
IPU: Inter-Parliamentary Union
ITSO: International Telecommunications Satellite Organization
ITUC: International Trade Union Confederation
OIC: Organization of Islamic Cooperation
OIF: Organisation internationale de la Francophonie
WCO: World Customs Organization
UN Specialized Agencies & Organizations: 
CTBTO: Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization
FAO: Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN
IAEA: International Atomic Energy Agency
IBRD: International Bank for Reconstruction and Development
ICAO: International Civil Aviation Organization
ICSID: International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes
IDA: International Development Association
IFAD: International Fund for Agricultural Development
IFC: International Finance Corporation
ILO: International Labor Organization
IMF: International Monetary Fund
ITU: International Telecommunications Union
MIGA: Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency
OPCW: Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
UNIDO: United Nations Industrial Development Organization
UNWTO: United Nations World Tourism Organization
UPU: Universal Postal Union
WBG: World Bank Group
WHO: World Health Organization
WIPO: World Intellectual Property Organization
WMO: World Meteorological Organization
WTO: World Trade Organization
Current UN Peacekeeping Missions: 
MINUSMA: Multidimensional Integrated Stabilisation Mission in Mali
UNOCI: United Nations Operation in Côte d'Ivoire
Bilateral Relations
United Nations Data
Government Sources
UN Mission
211 East 43rd Street, Suite 1703
New York, NY 10017
(212) 986-0980/0262
(212) 986-0152

View Another Country