Guinea-Bissau (/ˈɡɪni bɪˈsaʊ/, officially the Republic of Guinea-Bissau) is a country in West Africa. It is the 138th biggest country in the world and the 153th most populous, with a total of 36,125 square kilometres and a population of 1,693,398. It shares borders with Senegal and Guinea. This Republic declared independence from the Portuguese Empire in 1973. Since then, it has suffered political instability and social strife.

General Information
Official Name: 
Republic of Guinea-Bissau, República da Guiné-Bissau
Portuguese, Crioulo, various African languages
Geographic Region: 
Western Africa
Geographic Size (km sq): 
Year of UN Membership: 
Year of Present State Formation: 
Online Profiles
Key Statistics & Indicators
Gross Domestic Product (GDP, Nominal): 
$0.916 Billion
Per Capita Income (PPP Adjusted): 
$1,235 (CID)
GDP Growth: 
3.50 (%)
Human Development Index (HDI): 
Economic Grouping: 
Developing Country
Least Developed Country
Small Island Developing State
International Relations
UN Voting Blocs & Caucuses: 
Group of 77 (G-77)
Non-Aligned Movement (NAM)
African Group
Islamic Group
Major International & Regional Organizations: 
ACP: African, Caribbean, and Pacific Group of States
AfDB: African Development Bank
AOSIS: Alliance of Small Island States
CPLP: Comuinidade dos Paises de Lingua Portuguesa
ECOWAS: Economic Community of West African States
FZ: Franc Zone
ICRM: International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement
IDB: Islamic Development Bank
IFRCS: International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
Interpol: International Criminal Police Organization
IOC: International Olympic Committee
IOM: International Organization for Migration
IPU: Inter-Parliamentary Union
ITSO: International Telecommunications Satellite Organization
ITUC: International Trade Union Confederation
OIC: Organization of Islamic Cooperation
OIF: Organisation internationale de la Francophonie
Union Latina
WADB: West African Development Bank
WAEMU: West African Economic and Monetary Union
WCO: World Customs Organization
WFTU: World Federation of Trade Unions
UN Specialized Agencies & Organizations: 
CTBTO: Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization
FAO: Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN
IBRD: International Bank for Reconstruction and Development
ICAO: International Civil Aviation Organization
IDA: International Development Association
IFAD: International Fund for Agricultural Development
IFC: International Finance Corporation
ILO: International Labor Organization
IMF: International Monetary Fund
IMO: International Maritime Organization
ITU: International Telecommunications Union
MIGA: Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency
OPCW: Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
UNIDO: United Nations Industrial Development Organization
UNWTO: United Nations World Tourism Organization
UPU: Universal Postal Union
WBG: World Bank Group
WHO: World Health Organization
WIPO: World Intellectual Property Organization
WMO: World Meteorological Organization
WTO: World Trade Organization
Current UN Peacekeeping Missions: 
MINUSMA: Multidimensional Integrated Stabilisation Mission in Mali
Bilateral Relations
United Nations Data
Government Sources
UN Mission
800 Second Avenue, Suite 400F
New York, NY 10017
(917) 770-5598
(212) 856-9820

View Another Country