Kazakhstan is located in the northern part of Central Asia. Officially known as the Republic of Kazakhstan, this country borders China in the east, Russia in the north, Uzbekistan and Kyrgyzstan in the south, and part of Turkmenistan and the Caspian Sea in the west. In total, the Republic of Kazakhstan covers 1,049,150 square miles, and is four times the size of Texas! Kazakhstan originated from a group of nomadic turkic tribes unified under one leader. Then, in the 13th century, they were dominated by the Mongol empire until the 18th century when they conquered by Russia. Kazakhstan would eventually gain its independence from Russia on December 16th, 1991 and establish the republic that it is today.

General Information
Official Name: 
Republic of Kazakhstan, Қазақстан Республикасы (Qazaqstan Respublïkası), Республика Казахстан (Respublika Kazakhstan)
Kazakh, Russian
Geographic Region: 
Central Asia
Geographic Size (km sq): 
Year of UN Membership: 
Year of Present State Formation: 
Online Profiles
Key Statistics & Indicators
Gross Domestic Product (GDP, Nominal): 
$216.802 Billion
Per Capita Income (PPP Adjusted): 
$15,219 (CID)
GDP Growth: 
5.00 (%)
Human Development Index (HDI): 
Gini Index (Income Inequality): 
Economic Grouping: 
Developing Country
Landlocked Developing Country
International Relations
UN Voting Blocs & Caucuses: 
Islamic Group
Asian Group
Major International & Regional Organizations: 
ADB: Asian Development Bank
CICA: Conference of Interaction and Confidence-Building Measures in Asia
CIS: Commonwealth of Independent States
CSTO: Collective Security Treaty Organization
EAEC: Eurasian Economic Community
EAPC: Euro-Atlantic Partnership Council
EBRD: European Bank for Reconstruction and Development
ECO: Economic Cooperation Organization
EITI: Extractive Industry Transparency Initiative
GCTU: General Confederation of Trade Unions
ICC: International Chamber of Commerce
ICRM: International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement
IDB: Islamic Development Bank
IFRCS: International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
Interpol: International Criminal Police Organization
IOC: International Olympic Committee
IOM: International Organization for Migration
IPU: Inter-Parliamentary Union
ISO: International Organization for Standardization
ITSO: International Telecommunications Satellite Organization
NSG: Nuclear Suppliers Group, aka London Group
OAS: Organization of American States
OIC: Organization of Islamic Cooperation
OSCE: Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe
PFP: Partnership for Peace
SCO: Shanghai Cooperation Organisation
WCO: World Customs Organization
WFTU: World Federation of Trade Unions
ZC: Zangger Committee
UN Specialized Agencies & Organizations: 
CD: Conference on Disarmament
CTBTO: Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization
FAO: Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN
IAEA: International Atomic Energy Agency
IBRD: International Bank for Reconstruction and Development
ICAO: International Civil Aviation Organization
ICSID: International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes
IDA: International Development Association
IFAD: International Fund for Agricultural Development
IFC: International Finance Corporation
ILO: International Labor Organization
IMF: International Monetary Fund
IMO: International Maritime Organization
ITU: International Telecommunications Union
MIGA: Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency
OPCW: Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
UNIDO: United Nations Industrial Development Organization
UNWTO: United Nations World Tourism Organization
UPU: Universal Postal Union
WBG: World Bank Group
WHO: World Health Organization
WIPO: World Intellectual Property Organization
WMO: World Meteorological Organization
WTO: World Trade Organization
Bilateral Relations
United Nations Data
Government Sources
UN Mission
3 Dag Hammarskjöld Plaza 305 East 47th Street, 3rd Floor
New York, NY 10017
(212) 230-1900
(212) 230-1172/446-6782

View Another Country