Malaysia is a federal constitutional monarchy consisting of 13 states and 3 federal territories. It is located in Southeast Asia with a total landmass of 330,000 square km. It is divided by the South China Sea into two regions, Peninsular Malaysia and East Malaysia. Peninsular Malaysia shares a border with Thailand, and maritime borders with Vietnam, Singapore, and Indonesia. East Malaysia shares a border with Brunei and Indonesia, as well as a maritime border with the Philippines. Its total population is about 30 million, with nearly 80% living in Peninsular Malaysia.

General Information
Official Name: 
Kuala Lumpur
Geographic Region: 
South-Eastern Asia
Geographic Size (km sq): 
Year of UN Membership: 
Year of Present State Formation: 
Online Profiles
Key Statistics & Indicators
Gross Domestic Product (GDP, Nominal): 
$525.000 Billion
Per Capita Income (PPP Adjusted): 
$17,500 (CID)
GDP Growth: 
4.70 (%)
Human Development Index (HDI): 
Gini Index (Income Inequality): 
Economic Grouping: 
Developing Country
International Relations
UN Voting Blocs & Caucuses: 
Group of 77 (G-77)
Non-Aligned Movement (NAM)
Islamic Group
Asian Group
Major International & Regional Organizations: 
ADB: Asian Development Bank
APEC: Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation
ARF: ASEAN Regional Forum
ASEAN: Association of Southeast Asian Nations
BIS: Bank for International Settlements
Commonwealth of Nations (British)
CICA: Conference of Interaction and Confidence-Building Measures in Asia
CP: Colombo Plan
D-8: Developing Eight
EAS: East Asia Summit
ICC: International Chamber of Commerce
ICRM: International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement
IDB: Islamic Development Bank
IFRCS: International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
IHO: International Hydrographic Organization
IMSO: International Mobile Satellite Organization
Interpol: International Criminal Police Organization
IOC: International Olympic Committee
IPU: Inter-Parliamentary Union
ISO: International Organization for Standardization
ITSO: International Telecommunications Satellite Organization
ITUC: International Trade Union Confederation
OIC: Organization of Islamic Cooperation
PCA: Permanent Court of Arbitration
PIF: Pacific Islands Forum
WCO: World Customs Organization
WFTU: World Federation of Trade Unions
UN Specialized Agencies & Organizations: 
CD: Conference on Disarmament
CTBTO: Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization
FAO: Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN
IAEA: International Atomic Energy Agency
IBRD: International Bank for Reconstruction and Development
ICAO: International Civil Aviation Organization
ICSID: International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes
IDA: International Development Association
IFAD: International Fund for Agricultural Development
IFC: International Finance Corporation
ILO: International Labor Organization
IMF: International Monetary Fund
IMO: International Maritime Organization
ITU: International Telecommunications Union
MIGA: Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency
OPCW: Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
UNIDO: United Nations Industrial Development Organization
UNWTO: United Nations World Tourism Organization
UPU: Universal Postal Union
WBG: World Bank Group
WHO: World Health Organization
WIPO: World Intellectual Property Organization
WMO: World Meteorological Organization
WTO: World Trade Organization
Current UN Peacekeeping Missions: 
MINURSO: UN Mission for the Referendum in Western Sahara
MONUSCO: UN Stabilisation Mission in the Democratic Republic of the Congo
UNIFIL: UN Interim Force in Lebanon
UNMIL: United Nations Mission in Liberia
Bilateral Relations
United Nations Data
Government Sources
UN Mission
313 East 43rd Street
New York, NY 10017
(212) 986-6310
(212) 490-8576

View Another Country