The Mali Federation began as the The Sudanese Republic and Senegal before becoming independent from France in 1960. After independence, Senegal formally withdrew from the Mali Federation, and thus the nation became known as Mali. It is located in the interior of Western Africa, neighbored by Algeria, Cote d’Ivoire, Burkina Faso, and west of Niger. After a coup in 1991, the Mali government transitioned from dictatorship to democratic rule and has stayed as such since then. Mali’s population rests at 16,455,903.

General Information
Official Name: 
Republic of Mali, République du Mali, Mali ka Fasojamana
French, Bambara, Peul, Dogon, Maraka/soninke, Malinke, Sonrhai/djerma, Minianka, Tamacheq, Senoufo
Geographic Region: 
Western Africa
Geographic Size (km sq): 
Year of UN Membership: 
Year of Present State Formation: 
Online Profiles
Key Statistics & Indicators
Gross Domestic Product (GDP, Nominal): 
$12.450 Billion
Per Capita Income (PPP Adjusted): 
$1,157 (CID)
GDP Growth: 
4.80 (%)
Human Development Index (HDI): 
Gini Index (Income Inequality): 
Foreign Aid Recieved: 
$1,001.30Million (USD)
Economic Grouping: 
Developing Country
Landlocked Developing Country
Least Developed Country
International Relations
UN Voting Blocs & Caucuses: 
Group of 77 (G-77)
Non-Aligned Movement (NAM)
African Group
Islamic Group
Major International & Regional Organizations: 
ACP: African, Caribbean, and Pacific Group of States
AfDB: African Development Bank
AU: African Union
CD: Community of Democracies
ECOWAS: Economic Community of West African States
EITI: Extractive Industry Transparency Initiative
FZ: Franc Zone
ICRM: International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement
IDB: Islamic Development Bank
IFRCS: International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
Interpol: International Criminal Police Organization
IOC: International Olympic Committee
IOM: International Organization for Migration
IPU: Inter-Parliamentary Union
ISO: International Organization for Standardization
ITSO: International Telecommunications Satellite Organization
ITUC: International Trade Union Confederation
OIC: Organization of Islamic Cooperation
OIF: Organisation internationale de la Francophonie
WADB: West African Development Bank
WAEMU: West African Economic and Monetary Union
WCO: World Customs Organization
WFTU: World Federation of Trade Unions
UN Specialized Agencies & Organizations: 
CTBTO: Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization
FAO: Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN
IAEA: International Atomic Energy Agency
IBRD: International Bank for Reconstruction and Development
ICAO: International Civil Aviation Organization
ICSID: International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes
IDA: International Development Association
IFAD: International Fund for Agricultural Development
IFC: International Finance Corporation
ILO: International Labor Organization
IMF: International Monetary Fund
ITU: International Telecommunications Union
MIGA: Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency
OPCW: Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
UNIDO: United Nations Industrial Development Organization
UNWTO: United Nations World Tourism Organization
UPU: Universal Postal Union
WBG: World Bank Group
WHO: World Health Organization
WIPO: World Intellectual Property Organization
WMO: World Meteorological Organization
WTO: World Trade Organization
Current UN Peacekeeping Missions: 
MONUSCO: UN Stabilisation Mission in the Democratic Republic of the Congo
UNMIL: United Nations Mission in Liberia
UNMISS: UN Mission in the Republic of South Sudan
Bilateral Relations
United Nations Data
Government Sources
UN Mission
111 East 69th Street
New York, NY 10021
(212) 737-4150, 794-1311
(212) 472-3778

View Another Country