Monaco, officially the Principality of Monaco, is a constitutional monarchy located in Western Europe. The country is a mere two sq. kilometers, making it the second-smallest data after the Holy See. Monaco shares a border with France on three sides, and the fourth side of the country borders the Mediterranean Sea. Monaco has been an independent state since 1419, when the permanent rule by the House of Grimaldi began. According to a 2013 estimate, Monaco’s population is approximately 38,000 people, making it the most densely populated state in the world. Likewise, Monaco is one of three UN member states who does not belong to the World Bank or the International Monetary Fund.

General Information
Official Name: 
Principality of Monaco, Principauté de Monaco, Principatu de Múnegu, Principato di Monaco, Principat de Mónegue
French, English, Italian, Monegasque
Geographic Region: 
Western Europe
Geographic Size (km sq): 
Year of UN Membership: 
Year of Present State Formation: 
Online Profiles
Key Statistics & Indicators
Gross Domestic Product (GDP, Nominal): 
$5.424 Billion
Per Capita Income (PPP Adjusted): 
$132,571 (CID)
GDP Growth: 
0.90 (%)
Human Development Index (HDI): 
Economic Grouping: 
Developed Country
International Relations
UN Voting Blocs & Caucuses: 
Western European and Others Group (WEOG)
Major International & Regional Organizations: 
CD: Community of Democracies
CoEu: Council of Europe
ICC: International Chamber of Commerce
ICRM: International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement
IFRCS: International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
IHO: International Hydrographic Organization
IMSO: International Mobile Satellite Organization
Interpol: International Criminal Police Organization
IOC: International Olympic Committee
IPU: Inter-Parliamentary Union
ITSO: International Telecommunications Satellite Organization
OAS: Organization of American States
OIF: Organisation internationale de la Francophonie
OSCE: Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe
Union Latina
UN Specialized Agencies & Organizations: 
CTBTO: Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization
FAO: Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN
IAEA: International Atomic Energy Agency
ICAO: International Civil Aviation Organization
IMO: International Maritime Organization
ITU: International Telecommunications Union
OPCW: Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
UNIDO: United Nations Industrial Development Organization
UNWTO: United Nations World Tourism Organization
UPU: Universal Postal Union
WHO: World Health Organization
WIPO: World Intellectual Property Organization
WMO: World Meteorological Organization
Bilateral Relations
United Nations Data
Government Sources
UN Mission
866 U.N. Plaza Suite 520
New York, NY 10017
(212) 832-0721
(212) 832-5358

View Another Country