Palau, officially the Republic of Palau, is an island country located in the western Pacific Ocean. It is makes up part of the larger island group of Micronesia. The country’s population of around 21,000 is spread across 250 islands, which forms the western chain of the Caroline Islands. The capital Ngerulmud is located in Melekeok State on the nearby island of Babeldaob. The islands share maritime boundaries with Indonesia, the Philippines, and the Federated States of Micronesia. Politically, Palau became independent in 1994 after being run by the US and is now a presidential republic in free association with the United States, which provides defense, funding, and access to social services.

General Information
Official Name:
Republic of Palau, Beluu er a Belau
English, Palauan
Geographic Region:
Geographic Size (km sq):
Year of UN Membership:
Year of Present State Formation:
Online Profiles
Key Statistics & Indicators
Gross Domestic Product (GDP, Nominal):
$0.259 Billion
Per Capita Income (PPP Adjusted):
$24,206 (CID)
GDP Growth:
1.00 (%)
Human Development Index (HDI):
Foreign Aid Recieved:
$155.80Million (USD)
Economic Grouping:
Developing Country
Small Island Developing State
International Relations
UN Voting Blocs & Caucuses:
Asian Group
Major International & Regional Organizations:
ACP: African, Caribbean, and Pacific Group of States
ADB: Asian Development Bank
AOSIS: Alliance of Small Island States
ICRM: International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement
IFRCS: International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
IMSO: International Mobile Satellite Organization
IOC: International Olympic Committee
IPU: Inter-Parliamentary Union
PIF: Pacific Islands Forum
Sparteca: South Pacific Regional Trade and Economic Cooperation Agreement
SPC: Secretariat of the Pacific Communities
UN Specialized Agencies & Organizations:
CTBTO: Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization
FAO: Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN
IAEA: International Atomic Energy Agency
IBRD: International Bank for Reconstruction and Development
ICAO: International Civil Aviation Organization
IDA: International Development Association
IFC: International Finance Corporation
ILO: International Labor Organization
IMF: International Monetary Fund
IMO: International Maritime Organization
ITU: International Telecommunications Union
MIGA: Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency
OPCW: Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
WBG: World Bank Group
WHO: World Health Organization
Bilateral Relations
United Nations Data
Government Sources
UN Mission
866 United Nations Plaza, Suite 575
New York, NY 10017
(212) 813-0310
(212) 813-0317

View Another Country