Tajikistan became a separate republic from Uzbekistan, where it was an autonomous republic, in 1929 after the USSR took control. It became independent following the breakup of the Soviet Union in 1991 but has since experienced civil war (1992-1997) and domestic security incidents in recent years.

General Information
Official Name: 
Republic of Tajikistan, Ҷумҳурии Тоҷикистон (Çumhuriji Toçikiston), Респу́блика Таджикистан (Respublika Tadzhikistan)
Tajik, Russian
Geographic Region: 
Central Asia
Geographic Size (km sq): 
Year of UN Membership: 
Year of Present State Formation: 
Online Profiles
Key Statistics & Indicators
Gross Domestic Product (GDP, Nominal): 
$9.212 Billion
Per Capita Income (PPP Adjusted): 
$2,486 (CID)
GDP Growth: 
7.40 (%)
Human Development Index (HDI): 
Gini Index (Income Inequality): 
Economic Grouping: 
Developing Country
Landlocked Developing Country
International Relations
UN Voting Blocs & Caucuses: 
Group of 77 (G-77)
Islamic Group
Asian Group
Major International & Regional Organizations: 
ADB: Asian Development Bank
CICA: Conference of Interaction and Confidence-Building Measures in Asia
CIS: Commonwealth of Independent States
CSTO: Collective Security Treaty Organization
EAEC: Eurasian Economic Community
EAPC: Euro-Atlantic Partnership Council
EBRD: European Bank for Reconstruction and Development
ECO: Economic Cooperation Organization
GCTU: General Confederation of Trade Unions
ICC: International Chamber of Commerce
ICRM: International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement
IDB: Islamic Development Bank
IFRCS: International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
Interpol: International Criminal Police Organization
IOC: International Olympic Committee
IOM: International Organization for Migration
IPU: Inter-Parliamentary Union
ISO: International Organization for Standardization
ITSO: International Telecommunications Satellite Organization
OIC: Organization of Islamic Cooperation
OSCE: Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe
PFP: Partnership for Peace
SCO: Shanghai Cooperation Organisation
WCO: World Customs Organization
WFTU: World Federation of Trade Unions
UN Specialized Agencies & Organizations: 
CTBTO: Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization
FAO: Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN
IAEA: International Atomic Energy Agency
IBRD: International Bank for Reconstruction and Development
ICAO: International Civil Aviation Organization
IDA: International Development Association
IFAD: International Fund for Agricultural Development
IFC: International Finance Corporation
ILO: International Labor Organization
IMF: International Monetary Fund
ITU: International Telecommunications Union
MIGA: Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency
OPCW: Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
UNIDO: United Nations Industrial Development Organization
UNWTO: United Nations World Tourism Organization
UPU: Universal Postal Union
WBG: World Bank Group
WHO: World Health Organization
WIPO: World Intellectual Property Organization
WMO: World Meteorological Organization
WTO: World Trade Organization
Current UN Peacekeeping Missions: 
MINUSMA: Multidimensional Integrated Stabilisation Mission in Mali
Bilateral Relations
United Nations Data
Government Sources
UN Mission
216 East, 49th Street, 4th floor
New York, NY 10017
(212) 207-3315
(212) 207-3855

View Another Country