Timor-Leste, more commonly referred to as East Timor, is a maritime country located in Southeast Asia composed of four main islands and sharing a border with Indonesian West Timor. The country is fairly small in terms of geographical size, only covering an area of 5,7432 square miles (14,874 kilometers squared.) Timor-Leste was originally a Portuguese colony up until it declared independence in the year 1975. Its freedom was short lived, however, as it was invaded by Indonesia in the following year and was not granted independence until the year 1999. It became the first new country in the 21st century when it officially established the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste in May of 2002.

General Information
Official Name: 
Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste, República Democrática de Timor-Leste, Repúblika Demokrátika Timór-Leste
Tetum, Portuguese, Indonesian, and English
Geographic Region: 
South-Eastern Asia
Geographic Size (km sq): 
Year of UN Membership: 
Year of Present State Formation: 
Online Profiles
Key Statistics & Indicators
Gross Domestic Product (GDP, Nominal): 
$5.708 Billion
Per Capita Income (PPP Adjusted): 
$23,338 (CID)
GDP Growth: 
8.10 (%)
Human Development Index (HDI): 
Gini Index (Income Inequality): 
Economic Grouping: 
Developing Country
Least Developed Country
Small Island Developing State
International Relations
UN Voting Blocs & Caucuses: 
Group of 77 (G-77)
Asian Group
Major International & Regional Organizations: 
ACP: African, Caribbean, and Pacific Group of States
ADB: Asian Development Bank
AOSIS: Alliance of Small Island States
ARF: ASEAN Regional Forum
ASEAN: Association of Southeast Asian Nations
CPLP: Comuinidade dos Paises de Lingua Portuguesa
EITI: Extractive Industry Transparency Initiative
ICRM: International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement
IFRCS: International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
Interpol: International Criminal Police Organization
IOC: International Olympic Committee
IOM: International Organization for Migration
IPU: Inter-Parliamentary Union
PIF: Pacific Islands Forum
Union Latina
WCO: World Customs Organization
UN Specialized Agencies & Organizations: 
CTBTO: Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization
FAO: Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN
IBRD: International Bank for Reconstruction and Development
ICAO: International Civil Aviation Organization
ICSID: International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes
IDA: International Development Association
IFAD: International Fund for Agricultural Development
IFC: International Finance Corporation
ILO: International Labor Organization
IMF: International Monetary Fund
IMO: International Maritime Organization
ITU: International Telecommunications Union
MIGA: Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency
OPCW: Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
UNIDO: United Nations Industrial Development Organization
UNWTO: United Nations World Tourism Organization
UPU: Universal Postal Union
WBG: World Bank Group
WHO: World Health Organization
WMO: World Meteorological Organization
Bilateral Relations
United Nations Data
Government Sources
UN Mission
2 United Nations Plaza, Suite 441
New York, NY 10017
(212) 963-8138
(212) 759-4196

View Another Country